National Move Over Day reminds drivers to give first responders space on the road
PORTLAND, Ore. – Saturday is National Move Over Day – reminding drivers to give first responders the space they need while they’re on the side of the road.
For first responders, simply getting out of their cars on the side of the road is one of the most dangerous parts of the job.
ODOT says between 2007 and 2017, more than 600 officers killed while on duty died in traffic-related incidents. That’s why there’s a day dedicated to making drivers aware of who is stopped on the shoulder.
In Oregon, if you drive by an emergency scene or a pulled-over car, you need to slow down at least five miles per hour or, if there is space, move over.
In Washington, you need to slow down by 10 miles per hour or move over when you pass a patrol car, emergency vehicle, or work zone.
If you break the laws in Oregon, fines start at $265.
In Washington, failure to follow the move over law will cost you at least $214.