Governor signs minimum wage increase into law
SALEM, Ore. - Gov. Kate Brown signed a bill into law raising the state's minimum wage, effective July 1.
The governor signed the bill in a ceremony Wednesday at the Capitol.
The bill passed the House and Senate last month.
The bill raises Oregon's $9.25 minimum wage this summer to $9.75 in the Portland metro area and the state's more urban counties like Lane and Benton; and to $9.50 in more rural counties like Douglas and Coos.
Every July through 2022, the law raises the minimum wage different amounts in each tier. After 2022, the wage will be adjusted based on the Consumer Price Index.
The legislation increases the wage over time. It also breaks the state into three regions with different wages.
Inside Portland's Urban Growth Boundary: $14.75 by 2022
Rural counties: $12.50 by 2022 in Malheur, Lake, Harney, Wheeler, Sherman, Gilliam, Wallowa, Grant, Jefferson, Baker, Union, Crook, Klamath, Douglas, Coos, Curry, Umatilla and Morrow counties
Urban counties: $13.50 by 2022 in Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Deschutes, Hood River, Jackson, Josephine, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Wasco, Washington and Yamhill counties
In signing the bill, Brown said she was proud of the stakeholder groups that came together to help push what she called, a smart approach to raising the minimum wage.